Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 10 Fail wonderfully… and 25 awesome lions

sep10_failure or success_#1_crop sep10_failure or success #2 crop

Day 10 I got a definite fail on my final painting. Couldn’t post it straight away (it was still wet). My thoughts were: I am seeing a series about girls in the wind. Perhaps boys too. I looked up an image, drew a few pictures. Didn’t like it. Found a girl with a kite (lovely picture!), drew quickly. Then painted. Anyway… I think I took on something that was a bit too hard to accomplish.

For you information I am adding the earlier drawing. Perhaps it’s clearer what you’re supposed to see in the painting. 🙂

Lessons learned:

  1. Sudden change of theme is perhaps not such a good idea.
  2. Landscape has a totally different subject/theme..
  3. Don’t mistake luck for skill. I was lucky perhaps yesterday. (Nah)
  4. I shouldn’t forget to practice on an image first, get it into my brain. Simplify.. After all, the other day I tried several drawings of the girl in the wind before I got to the interesting representation of that girl. She didn’t look like the original, but she looked real. That was the moment to start adding paint. She already looked great. And then I added paint  – and it worked.
  5. This time I took a big risk. I tried drawing and failed. And then I decided to start from a pencil sketch and fill it up with paint, not just watercolor but real thick watercolor. I had been drawing for 30 minutes already, needed to get to work. So I took  a big risk: just paint. Mmmm.  Ah well…
  6. Taking risks means I risk to fail. And I just did wonderfully! 🙂 Yeah!
  7. Don’t forget: Tomorrow is another day!

Oh and the lions… the other day I did a lesson from the online course ‘The Year of the Spark‘. The prompt was to make 25 pieces in a relatively short period of time. I ended up with 25 lions, many of which I like a lot. That helps me too, to forget about a fail. 25 awesome lions.

5 comments on “Day 10 Fail wonderfully… and 25 awesome lions

  1. Juli Hoffman
    September 11, 2015

    How is it a fail? I like it! I suppose art is subjective, but still…I love the sense of movement.

    • corinnebekker
      September 11, 2015

      Dear Juli, Thanks so much for your kind remark. I guess I am more harsh in my judgment than you. Perhaps I will see it in another light in a few days. That often happens when I am not happy with a piece. 🙂

  2. Jill Kuhn
    September 12, 2015

    I do not believe in failure as an artist, Corinne! Perhaps tomorrow you will see this in a different light. Art to me is a process and a journey. Sometimes the lessons I learn in creating are not what I expected BUT if I have learned to stay open. My hope is you will also be OPEN to your artistic journey and embrace the direction it takes you. 😊

    • corinnebekker
      September 12, 2015

      Thanks Jill for your wise words. Yes it’s all about the process. And probably the pieces that don’t turn out the way I hoped, contain the best lessons. But still sometimes there’s this feeling of “yuck, it’s no good”. It doesn’t linger long. It is what it is.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

