Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Day 3 Drawings of an older man, Henk

Day 3 of Year of Daily Creating. Drawing practice in my sketchbook.Doing quick studies helps me to really look well at an image. I’d rather do 10 studies before doing a slower drawing, than spend an hour on one drawing. The practice is as much about practicing looking well as about eye hand coordination.

I did about 6 of them. These four are after the same photo of an older man. It’s bugging me that he is anonymous. Let’s call him Henk. I like that name. (I know that he’s probably from the USA, so that the name would rather be Hank. But I like Henk.)

I like to think Henk is going on a day trip on a sunny day. He’s going to the coast, take a walk on the beach. Look at the waves, dog walkers, the gulls. Feel the wind in his hair. He’ll have some ice cream, or a cold bear when he returns home. Have a nice day, Henk!

It is fun to see how they are all different but seem related. I like doing oneliner drawings: each drawing is done in one line, the pen doesn’t leave the paper. I love the results done in my non dominant hand. Knowing that it won’t be perfect is freeing to let go and just have fun.

What will be next? Men with beards? Or back to females?

The photo reference for this one is a picture on Shutterstock.

2 comments on “Day 3 Drawings of an older man, Henk

  1. Jill Kuhn
    September 3, 2015

    Amazing how a quick one-liner sketch can reveal so much about a person! I really enjoyed all of these of Henk! And I like that you told a little story about him too! šŸ˜„

  2. corinnebekker
    September 5, 2015

    So nice to know that you have a moment of joy out of these! Thanks Jill!

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ā¤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

