Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Painting intuitively

Look for joy

Look for joy. Mixed media on watercolor paper. August 2015.

I am practicing for a year of making art work daily. I am thinking whether I really should be making one piece a day – from start to finish. That’s quite the challenge.Get going, keep going and finish as well. All in one day, preferably in a short period of time.

Right now I am trying out new ways to start a painting first. I joined Alena Hennessy’s Year of Painting, as one of the ways to find inspiration and community to share some of my progress in my Year of Daily Art Making. I know Alena Hennessy through her lessons in Life Book 2014 and 2015. She is one of several people teaching a kind of intuitive painting style, making marks first and just seeing where the painting itself brings you. A recent lesson in quick painting led me to 5 pieces.Ā  Of these I only really liked one, two were ugly , but one of these in a really interesting way. I found marks I liked a lot, But the colors were really awful. I kept it to look at again every once in a while to see what I can learn from that.

Anyway, here I followed a lesson in which we were asked to collage and paint. I am practicing really for the year of painting daily. I wanted to find ways to start a painting quickly. Get going quickly. I like working on more pieces at a time. It helps when a piece needs to dry, to be able to work on another. And it seems to help against getting stuck too. So I started two pieces with beautiful wrapping paper and collage papers from my stash. I decided on a limited palette using mostly beige and brown papers, orangy-brown ink and – for contrast- Payne’s grey acrylic ink. I scratched in the ink and found I wanted a bird in the picture. No surprise there… Today I finished with some more ink to elaborate on the sun shining, warming the world and the creatures on it.Ā  There, still wet, but I think it’s finished!

PS Perhaps I should be practicing whether I can do a painting in one hour too. That’s a topic for another day.

6 comments on “Painting intuitively

  1. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    August 20, 2015

    Lovely and so expressive! Looking forward to following along with your journey. šŸ’›

  2. Shena
    August 21, 2015

    Beautiful, Corinne, just beautiful!

  3. Jill Kuhn
    August 21, 2015

    I see a person dancing for joy in your painting! I look forward to seeing how you enjoy Alena H’s class. šŸ˜Š

    • corinnebekker
      August 21, 2015

      How fun. I saw the beginnings of a tree and a bird and let it emerge – but now you mention it, I see your dancing person too!

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ā¤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

