Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Pondering subject matter for a Year of Daily Art Making

July 4_Juliette Crane inspired faceI am counting down the days for my Year of Daily Art Making to begin! These two weeks to come I am using to collect my supplies and decide on what subjects to paint. I was thinking about how to keep it interesting and how to keep going. Choosing a subject to work on for a period of time, seems the way to go. I already received some helpful responses when I wrote about that last week. Kathrin, Jill and Laura: thanks so much!

Kathrin suggested perhaps working 101 days (or 100) on one subject, taking a short break and then starting again. There are two suggestions actually, choosing themes and sticking with it, and going for a longer period of time making something every day , but allowing for a short break (stop making and going offline) every 100 days.

I decided that for the time being I will work on themes that will run one month at a time. If after three months I feel I want to change that, I may just do that. For the moment it seems a good idea to go for the monthly theme. It will help me get into a kind of rhythm. After all, I always know what the next painting will be about. That’s one question out of the way!

The question becomes what theme or subject matter to work on for the first month. It has to be interesting enough to stick with it for a month. I am undecided whether to just go for a subject like Faces (I really like to investigate that) or Flowers (I know I can do flowers, but it would be good to make so many that new things can come up). I even thought that the first theme might be Flowers and Faces. I will be pondering that for the next few days.

PS The face above I made in response to a lesson on using your sketchbook by Juliette Crane, in Life Book 2015 – a year long class hosted by Tamara Laporte. There are lots of chances to draw and paint faces in that class.

*

I’d like to mention  Tamara Laporte in more depth here, because I owe her: Tamare Laporte is working under the name of Willowing. She developed the year long online art course Life Book that started in 2012. Almost every week there is a new lesson on her online platform in which we learn about mixed media techniques. I took it in 2014 and did about 80% of the lessons and enrolled again in 2015.  Tamara teaches this course with an amazing line up of about 20 to 25 guest teachers each year. She also teaches shorter online courses. Look her up on her website! I’ve learned a lot about mixed media and drawing and painting faces from Tamara and other teachers on Life Book.

15 comments on “Pondering subject matter for a Year of Daily Art Making

  1. Jill Kuhn
    August 17, 2015

    Exploring a different subject each month sounds like a great idea, Corinne! You could write down your ideas for subjects as they come to you and put them in a jar and then choose one each month. Just an idea.
    I like your face here and how you added collage to it. I look forward to your art posts! 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      August 17, 2015

      Thanks Jill! Yep I will definitely write ideas down – putting them in a jar to choose from might be nice too. Thanks for that idea!

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    August 17, 2015

    Looking forward to seeing what you come up with! Flowers and faces both call me these days. Sounds very exciting!

  3. smurphy4
    August 18, 2015

    Corinne, I’m sure you’ve thought about it, but selecting a theme that is related to the month might be interesting. Not necessarily a seasonal or holiday theme, but something related to a personal experience. Just thinking about how I might organize such a big project. I like picking ideas out of a jar, too.

    • corinnebekker
      August 19, 2015

      Thanks for your suggestion, Susan. I am thinking about that indeed. Keeping the options open for now to sometimes to a seasonal thing – that may be more personal too. In the end I want to feel confident it will be interesting to do for a month. Thanks!

      • smurphy4
        August 19, 2015

        Corinne, I’m really looking forward to seeing what you decide to do! Now you have me thinking about taking the leap with you!

      • corinnebekker
        August 19, 2015

        Cool! It would be great to be working alongside you!

  4. carolineartist
    August 19, 2015

    Really interesting to think about.

    My own choices for a year would be less to do with subject and more to do with medium or colour palette. For instance choosing to go either with or against the obvious-to-you seasonal palette for the time of year and see how that goes.

    Since you’ve now got a gelli plate I’d also be very tempted to play with seasonal colours in that at least once per season (however you choose to denote seasons… I’ve been noticing that late summer is very different to early where I am.)

    And if I was really keen on making it a challenge I’d attempt to do at least one day every now and then doing something really outside my comfort zone… whatever that was!

    • corinnebekker
      August 19, 2015

      Oh my, you’re giving me many things to think about. And yes, of course I like to go outside my comfort zone. But I am sure that working on one theme may already lead to that. And I will go out of my comfort zone for sure, because somewhere during this challenge I want to use new media, like encaustic wax. Will I be able to make it look OK? We will see. Thanks again!

      • carolineartist
        August 19, 2015

        I love encaustic! The hardest part of starting working with it for me was getting good enough ventilation.

      • corinnebekker
        August 19, 2015

        Yes that is one of my worries. I will have to get a fan and perhaps do it more in summer with several windows opened to make sure any fumes will go out the window and not stay indoors.

      • carolineartist
        August 19, 2015

        Its one of those times that its worth setting a timer to make sure you take regular breaks – or at least that’s my strategy for ensuring I do stop, leave the studio, and can then check I’m not getting spaced out on it… but it is so worth it!

      • corinnebekker
        August 19, 2015

        Thanks, that’s a great tip as well. 🙂

  5. Shena
    August 21, 2015

    This is really a wonderful commitment! I certainly like the idea of one theme each month. Have you decided on the medium yet? Or are you going to allow yourself the freedom to choose and go with the flow… It’s a very interesting concept and I wish you so much joy and fun and learning with it!

    • corinnebekker
      August 22, 2015

      Thanks Shena for your encouragement. And yes , you said it right, it is for a large part about learning and growing!
      I think I will stay with one medium to start with per month. I may combine each monthly theme with a (new) medium (or set of media). I find already (practicing) that sticking with one medium for a while leads to wonderful finds. But I will go with the flow too – when I find out something about this plan doesn’t work, even after keeping with it for a while, I may change it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2015 by in art challenge and tagged , , , , , , , .
Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

