Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Starting a year of painting daily….

September 1st I intend to start a year of painting daily.

Last year I joined a challenge making 101 pieces of art work in a 101 day period. As I joined the group late, I set my target a little lower than some. This really helped me to up my pace and make a lot of art. I decided to enter another challenge and started the 101 Bird challenge. To keep me going.

I loved the effect of being in the challenge. This time I want to challenge myself into making art daily.

I haven’t completely decided on the parameters of the challenge. Here’s some of the questions I am thinking about:

1. Should it be a painting always?  (I am leaning towards a yes). Or would a drawing do? And if a drawing does fit, should it have taken a considerable amount of time? …. I do have drawings that were made in only 30 seconds – that is wonderful for getting (or keeping) the drawing muscles going, but is it enough for the creation of a daily art practice? Some of the drawings I’ve done and like a lot were done in an hour, others in 30 to 60 seconds…

2. Should it be a standard size? That could be both easy because I won’t have to think about it, but it could become bothersome (an interesting question….).

3. I want to blog about it. Should it be a daily blogpost? I have recently found that being away from the internet and from people responding to my art has a kind of freeing effect – not having anyone looking over my shoulder all the time is relaxing. It shouldn’t be so relaxed that I stop feeling challenged or motivated of course…

I am very inspired by some other people who started on a challenge like this, especially Niya Christines year of painting. She said afterwards that in hindsight she didn’t think if she ever did it again she would be posting daily.

So I am thinking about posting daily at first (at least 21 days) and after a while moving into twice a week mode…

4.  I don’t want to go into 101 days mode again. 365 days is the target. To keep it fresh I should perhaps choose themes that vary from time to time. Choosing a theme per month may be a good idea. Again, I am inspired a great deal by Niya Christines choice for monthly themes.

5. Do I need other parameters?

Dear reader, if you have any thoughts about these questions, I’d love to hear them. Please leave them in the comment section below! I ‘d appreciate them very much!

10 comments on “Starting a year of painting daily….

  1. Jill Kuhn
    August 9, 2015

    Great idea Corinne! For me, I find I do better without too many restrictions or guidelines. But you may be different. I started the year trying to create a bird every day and posting it on my blog. I made it to mid May before I had to change it to just creating every day. I like to try to blog every day with my art because I enjoy the feedback I get from my blogging friends. It also pushes me to create more when I may not feel like it. Hope this helps you. 😊 And I wish you much success! 🌟

    • corinnebekker
      August 9, 2015

      Hi Jill! Thanks for your thoughtful comments. I am still in doubt even about whether to do it… haha. I figured that it might be good to make it about ‘creating daily’ – instead of painting daily. Much like you.
      Also I am thinking about setting and resetting restrictions / guidelines each month. It feels OK to have some restrictions/parameters – that helps to be focused.

      Thanks! 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      August 9, 2015

      Ha ha! Actually I was still thinking about this post whether to write it like this… I thought I had changed it’s setting to ‘draft’. Turns out it goes life after all. … Ah well – it’s clear that I need to discuss this. So it might as well be online. 🙂

  2. Laura (Createarteveryday)
    August 9, 2015

    Hi, I did a July painting challenge and it was quite enough! I do create art every day but if I had to do a painting every day all year….woo. I hope you do though!! You’d see amazing progress. I draw every day now and paint when I can. It’s worked out well. Good luck, whatever you decide! 💛

    • corinnebekker
      August 11, 2015

      Thanks Laura for your response! Yes it would be quite the challenge. I intend to decide soon whether or not to make it all painting. I remember doing a 101 bird challenge – and part of it I spent doing contour drawings. That was so great and helped me enormously to develop reference material both on paper and in my head. So the best conclusion is that I should turn it into A year of daily art making. And the restrictions to be chosen each month could include a month of painting. Thanks, your response is helping me improve on the plan!

  3. kathiwerner
    August 11, 2015

    Wow, that is a real challenge!
    You said you have some doubts, so maybe you can soften it a little bit and can allow for yourself some “holidays” eg. make 350 days (incase of illness, business trips or similar things)? Or make 250 paintings and fill up the rest with sketches or something like that?

    Also what was sometimes difficult during the bird challenge was, if I started a bird which was taking longer than to finish it in one day, I would be in delay. So maybe to chose a small format or way of painting which allows you to finish it relatively fast.

    I found that topics can help btw, and that you will get more ideas if you explore one topic deeper. For example I decided to do around 1o drawings with the topic “crocodiles and birds” and you see what happened now…

    You have some time to think about it and certainly will find a way that suits you – anyways I am sure you will be doing something great!

    • corinnebekker
      August 13, 2015

      Thanks, Kathrin, for your thinking along with me, your ideas. Having a conversation like this a great help in getting my plan more ready.
      Having some holiday time sounds like a good idea. I remember that last December after the challenge I was rather tired and especially I wanted to drop from the internet for a while. I’ll let it simmer for a few more days and then decide!
      I am thinking about topics too. Perhaps one topic per month, like Niya did when she did the year of painting. I am collecting topics that resonate with me. Thanks!

  4. kathiwerner
    August 14, 2015

    Welcome to such conversations at any time, Corinne!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2015 by in My work and tagged , .
Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

