Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Red, yellow and blue

I’ve started making a series – using only three watercolor colors and a pencil.After doing 4 or 5 I started marking them R-Y-B plus their number.

How did this come about?

I was on holiday. I packed a journal and a small sketchbook. Neocolor crayons (17 colors, picked to make landscape ánd imaginary animals possible), a small watercolor set (12 pans of color), pens and pencils (some washables and ordinary HB, 2B and 4B; and a mechanical pencil). Oh yes, and some washi tape.

Another thing. No one was looking over my shoulder. I didn’t post online. I was on my own with the work and liking it.

After doing larger pieces experimenting with all the material I just playfully put three colors on a sketchbook page. It immediately struck me as a nice thing to do. Make the marks one day – look at them the next – perhaps add some pencil. So that’s what I did here.

RYB July #1

R-Y-B #1 or: Red, yellow and blue number one.

Number 1.

When I looked at the marks I felt a great urge to make a lot of pencil marks, not across but around the paint.

I was thinking of the Iceland landscape I guess, the waterfalls and the energy spilling from the earth.

Or not. 🙂

RYB July #2

R-Y_B #2

Number 2. By this time I was thinking of making a series, but not sure. Perhaps I will keep it abstract. I know it’s hard to make abstracts. I felt the urge to add a sun. I gave in. “Woops. Well. Okay. Tomorrow there’s another day.”

RYB July 30 #6

Number 6. I’ve started adding R-Y-B and a number. I am thinking of abstracts. An abstract series would be nice. But I am not really worrying about making sure.  I see a rabbit in the marks, but I ignore it. I try to ignore it at least at the beginning. Don’t want to make it too much of a representational thing, do I? Suddenly I draw houses. They feel nice. And cloud thingies….

Hahahaha. See, how hard making abstracts can be?

One comment on “Red, yellow and blue

  1. Jill Kuhn
    August 7, 2015

    Limited art supplies can be helpful sometimes. I like your series here, Corinne! 😊

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

