Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Birds that make me happy

bird detail of JULICE #4 spreadI love birds in my art. Some birds I like more than others. Like the ones in this post. During my holiday I played with washi tape. I like starting out art work by making random marks – later to find out what to make out of them. Washi tape is a lot of fun for making random marks on a page. Or for making something on purpose of course, but that was only partly the case in this piece I was making.

I learned about washi tape from Carla Sonheim during the year long online course the Year of the Giraffe, I think, or perhaps from one of the exercises in her book about drawing and painting ‘Imaginary Animals’.

I love the exercise of putting random pieces on a page to later find out what to make out of it. Last year I did that exercise so often that I couldn’t do the ‘at random’ bit any longer with my eyes open. It was too easy to steer the pieces into ‘something I wanted on the page’ instead of a random mark. So I added an extra limitation to the practice: put down the first bits with your eyes closed. I have been doing it that way a lot off and on. It’s a fun process. To end up with something recognizable, somewhere during the process I will of course start putting some pieces down on purpose, or replacing some or taking out some, but the start of it should be a random process.

So when the exercise in the Art Journal Summer School asked for washi tape – I couldn’t help but do parts on purpose (creating animals as focal images), but also adding random bits. Because my ‘go to subject’ is a bird, of course I was seeing birds, especially when they are in the air.

washi birds_detail of Iceland #4 spreadIt takes only a few extra pieces and some lines to make a bird, doesn’t it?

I love these birds. I love the stark contrast of the black and white tape, the black lines and the softer background made with watercolor.

Okay the whole story is that I also love making watercolor backgrounds with some splattering and some finger painting. I have both in the piece these birds come from.

bird detail of JULICE #4 spreadSo why does this one make me happy?  I don’t know. It’s a bit whimsical and seems to have a mind of its own, doesn’t it? And I love birds with tufts of hair or feathers on top. I make them all the time.

What kind of image makes you happy? Does it matter if you see them or hear them or feel them? Or make them in a piece of art? Please let me know!

PS. Art doesn’t always have to make us happy. I don’t want to argue that. It’s just that I like it when it does.

PPS I just like to remind you how I started making more and more birds – see below for links to the Bird Challenge.

PPPS Can you tell I am thinking about another challenge? I will get back to you soon about it….

LINKS

Art Journal Summer Course, hosted by Bloknote Academy

Carla Sonheim _ website and blog

My art: Birds in Mixed media

Blogposts about the 101 Bird Challenge in 2014

Happy Spring Birdies

Birds on my Brain

Join the Bird Challenge (sept 2014)

30 Birds to go

Find a Washi tape bird on a card in this blogpost

2 comments on “Birds that make me happy

  1. Jill Kuhn
    August 5, 2015

    I like your Washi tape birds, Corinne! I posted some Picasso style birds on my blog tomorrow. They make me laugh! Sometimes I think it is good to just have fun when making art! 😊🎨💚

    • corinnebekker
      August 6, 2015

      Thanks Jill. I will be looking out for your birds. You are so right -sometimes it’s fine to just have fun. Thanks for reminding me ; I do need reminding from time to time,especially when the holidays are over.

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

