Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Narrative painting with Niya Christine

View from Teatro Signorelli. Day 2. Pencil and watercolor on paper.

View from Teatro Signorelli. Day 2. Visual Journalism. Pencil and watercolor on paper.

I just returned from Italy. I spent a wonderful six days – traveling included – doing a lot of drawing and painting – drawing words and stories from the images I produced.  I was in Cortona, Tuscany,  on an art retreat hosted by Niya Christine, an American writer and painter. Niya Christine has become a very productive narrative painter – mixing drawing, painting and storytelling in a wonderful way – since doing a year of 365 paintings and writing a book about it. It was a four day intensive workshop full of techniques for painting and writing, and also to enjoy wonderful food and company. It was so good being able to work with like minded people who wanted to learn more about about writing and painting and about their own art. I loved doing this in these warm, rich surroundings. I am only showing one work in progress for now. This painting in watercolor resulted from an afternoon spent in the hill town Cortona, painting scenes ‘from life’ just sitting in cafés and painting things around us. I did this painting while we sat in the cafe of Teatro Signorelli (named after a Renaissance painter) and painted what we saw. It was a little bit of a struggle with the amount of stimuli. I was editing the scene while I went, adding things and leaving others out as seeds for a story came to me. Cortona is a town with a medieval look and many people are visiting it from all over the world for its history, food and wine. So many occasions for stories!

LINKS

Find Niya Christine online: on her website you can enjoy her paintings , a blog, including posts on the year of painting. And of course information on the Tuscany retreat is there as well.

Kathrin Werner has some lovely paintings from the workshop on her blog too!

More pictures on my flickr photostream.

6 comments on “Narrative painting with Niya Christine

  1. Jill Kuhn
    June 17, 2015

    This is wonderful Corinne! So happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience! Wow! Look forward to seeing more of your art. 🎨

    • corinnebekker
      June 18, 2015

      Thanks Jill! I put some of my drawings and paintings on my flickr page already. For instance, I did some drawing while waiting at the airport. So many people absorbed in their smart phones – they don’t notice that I am using them as models. 🙂
      I made an album for the pieces from the workshop:

      June13_workshop paintings #1

      I haven’t finished scanning and uploading all work fully, but some of it is already in there.

  2. Pingback: Narrative Painting in Tuscany | Kathrins World of Colours

  3. kathiwerner
    June 20, 2015

    Thank you Corinne for adding the link. When I watch your sketch it brings back lots of memories from that day ( taste of the coffee, we were drinking while painting, athmosphere of the scernery). And I love that girl in the open door bring so much story potential in the scene.

    • corinnebekker
      June 20, 2015

      Thanks Kathrin, I love returning the favor. Yeah that’s what those drawings and paintings will do for us. Isn’t it amazing?! And thanks for that remark on the drawing… Yes still some work to do on storytelling…. and I love it. We’ll just have to fit it into our normal routine now, won’t we? I am hooked 🙂

  4. Pingback: N I Y A C H R I S T I N E Fine Art, Books, Retreats » Giro Del Mondo

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

