Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Play, play, play!

Watercolor, acrylic ink on watercolor paper;acetate sheet and paint marker.  Size : 27 x35 cm / 10.6" x 13.8".

Bird on one leg. Watercolor, acrylic ink on watercolor paper; acetate sheet and paint marker.
Size : 27 x35 cm / 10.6″ x 13.8″.

Look what a fun result I got out of playing with watercolor and acrylic ink!

Since taking two watercolor classes from the beginning of this year I’ve learned a lot. But after doing someone else’s exercises for a while, I just wanted to play play play! And play I did!

Some of the results are in amazing colors and just call for an interesting drawing on top. Trying out what kind of drawing – I found this bird (from last year) – which seems to fit on that wildly spring color background. Using an acetate sheet (in fact a piece of overhead sheet I have left from my teaching years) made it possible to try out what it looks like.

The idea of using such a see-through sheet I took from Lesson 3 in the Year of the Spark by the amazing Lynn Whipple. (Just one of the fun ways to play with a composition she is sharing in Year of the Spark!) I tried several of my drawings from last year, when I was challenged to do 101 birds in 101 days. This drawing in combination with this vibrant background really works for me.

By the way, you can still join  the Year of the Spark – hosted by Carla Sonheim and Lynn Whipple. An inspiring lesson every two weeks through 2015. The main idea is to keep the art sparks flying and have fun learning new techniques or do inspiring exercises. Want to have fun and meet art lovers from all over the world? Join us!

Related links on this blog and other links

101 Pieces of Art!

Join the bird challenge

My team mates in the 101 birds challenge both have their own blog: Jill Kuhn (Jill’s art journal) and Kathrin Werner (Kathrins World of Color).

Flickr group 101 Birds and more – we started this group to share the results of the challenge to make 101 birds

My flickr album for the 101 Birds in 101 days challenge

101 Artists Supporting Artists group on Facebook: a wonderful supportive community

3 comments on “Play, play, play!

  1. Jill Kuhn
    April 22, 2015

    Thanks for including my blog name in your post. Love the background for your bird! Art is so fun – continue to play, play play! 😊🌈🎨

    • corinnebekker
      April 22, 2015

      You’re welcome. I love your blog and hope we can help each other out from time to time. Where would we be if we didn’t support one another?

  2. kathiwerner
    April 22, 2015

    Thank you so much for including my blog as well! Lovely background.Your blog is great and I like to watch how you are sparking of.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 21, 2015 by in Watercolor painting and tagged , , , , , , , .
Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

