Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

From Fairy Tales to Year of the Spark!

I am taking this class. Check it out!

I am taking this class. Check it out!

I should tell you all about Year of the Spark. I should have long ago. But for some reason I didn’t get around to posting a blogpost that I wrote a while ago , to say goodbye to the Year of the Fairy Tale and introduce the Year of the Spark. Well, here it is after all, edited a bit of course…

By the end of 2013 the Year of the Fairy Tale had come to an end and I was slightly sad. So much fun lessons, still so much more to be gained from it, but the year ended, and we would all be going our separate ways. It’s been fun, I learned a lot of mixed media techniques. Carla Sonheim is a great teacher. She is amazing at thinking up new ways to use well-known media!

I also learned about illustration – though not as much as I would have liked. Not because there was not enough to learn – no! – but because I couldn’t or wouldn’t always participate and take full advantage of the class content. As with many lessons, I feel that there is a lot more to be gained from the same course material by going over it again, applying it again – to new fairy tales, to new stories, to new ideas. So I will be going back in again some time in the new year, into this wonderful online classroom and learn more.

By now a new year long class has begun: The Year of the Spark. Good news for those who haven’t been on the fairy tale course (and will not be able to go into that wonderful magical room), but would love such an experience! This year, 2015, is all about fun, fun in art, making a lot of art, and about the business of art. Two lessons each month – one from Carla Sonheim and one from Lynn Whipple. Lessons on technique, on composition, on warming up and so on. You can read a lot more about in on Carla’s website, it’s listed among her online courses.

Related links

The Year of the Spark : a year long online class hosted by artists and educators Carla Sonheim and Lynn Whipple

2 comments on “From Fairy Tales to Year of the Spark!

  1. Mama Cormier
    April 12, 2015

    I didn’t do the Year of the Fairy Tale but I am participating in Year of the Spark. I hesitated about signing up because I wasn’t sure if I’d manage all the assignments, especially since I’m still working full-time as a teacher. I’m happy to say that I’ve done most of the assignments and those that I haven’t I’ve started and hope to get to soon. You’re right about Carla being an amazing teacher and Lynn is such a free spirit and brings her own magical touch to her lessons. One of the best parts of Carla’s lessons is the option to share with other students. Everyone is so supportive and kind.

    • corinnebekker
      April 12, 2015

      Yes, Carol, you are right: Carla knows how to create a supportive atmosphere in her classes. Lynn and Carla are a great team indeed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2015 by in Learning to make art and tagged , , , , , .
Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

