Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Of birds and flying horses

April8 Blob - Magic horse_take two

Magic horse. Acrylic paint, ballpoint pen and black ink pen on blank card.

I’ve been wondering about my card series. I started the year with the concept of playing the color wheel, making a set of cards with color blobs on them to finish with a drawing later. The exercise of taking a blob and draw something is helpful in itself as a warming up for a creative session, a jump start for the imagination. Doing the series, using one leading color at a time was meant as a challenge, to find out what impact working with the colors would have. Would some colors be easier than others? Do they have different effects on me?

I stopped when I was working on green. I have been wondering about that quite a bit lately.

Since I started this Card Blob Bird project I made quite a few drawings on cards. First a series that started with a dark blue and a blue black blob. After that I made some that were mostly green and some with blue,green and a bit of yellow. Then I made one green bird. I loved that bird. Totally in love I was… I thought it was the best bird so far in the series. And then I got stuck.

Acrylic paint and mechanical pencil on blank postcard.

Acrylic paint and mechanical pencil on blank postcard.

Why did I get stuck? I couldn’t figure it out. Was it because of the color green? Was it because I loved that one card so much? Because I got tired of the concept? In fact it may have been a more down to earth explanation, a combination of busy with work and the fact that we all were ill in my family for a while and I simply forgot to go on because inspiration struck in another way? But I didn’t realize that at first.

janfeb blobs green yellow

Blob cyclist wannabe. Acrylic paint on card.

The other day I looked at the green blobs I had left. They all said “person” to me, not “bird”. At best a bird-woman, but definitely not a bird. At the time when I tried to find birds in them, I just left them to try another day. No luck. I just stopped making cards for a while.

Long haired lady sitting on a fence. Acrylic on card.

Long haired lady sitting on a fence. Acrylic blob on card.

I made new pieces, on other paper mostly.  I drifted off doing other projects. I made birds in acrylic paint, listening to music. No worries, lots of inspiration. Drawings came to me and birds seemed to fit in. I was happy that I made birds at least. The jump start was the music, though, and the wish to use a particular kind of technique (stippling). I lost the connection to making cards.

The other day I looked at the last bird in the card series again. Like I had done several times. Suddenly I realized nothing was wrong with the bird or the idea. I was just being silly – I felt I could only go on if I made myself do birds on those self-same cards that didn’t work! The moment I realized that – the spell was broken. So what that the earlier cards didn’t work?! There is no law against making new cards.

So the day before yesterday I made new cards. Out came the paint tubes, as I followed along a lesson by Juliette Crane –painted some birds – and finally started a new series of cards. Some I made green, some yellow, some blobby messes. Something must be there! And I think there is… Though perhaps not always a bird. A flying horse is fine too, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Catherine M Johnson

Sheep Art by Catherine

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

