Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Character development for horses

first method flying scanIn a course on illustration (Carla Sonheims Year of the Fairy tale) and as a result I am getting a lot of practice in mixed media and drawing. The purpose of it all, as far as learning about illustration is concerned, is getting experience in drawing and painting for illustration, and part of the assignment is character development.

I find often that it is hard for me to draw a character that I like ánd that really fits in the story. I guess the practice of drawing a lot helps to get there faster.

We are in our seventh month and the tale is called ‘The magic horse’, a tale from the Arabian Nights. The first assignment was to make a 100 drawings of horses. That was really helpful to try out different kinds of images and get a feel for what kind of horse I would like to draw. I made one-liner drawings of strong horses I really liked, but they didn’t seem to fit the story. They looked like work horses or riding horses. I will find another purpose for them.

Then for the mixed media assignment we were supposed to pick one we liked and use one of three methods to get to a painting that would fit the story.

For the drawing assignment I hadn’t just drawn oneliners, but also I had drawn some horses with my eyes closed and some using my non-dominant hand. Some of the results were quite cute. From these drawings I picked a few I really liked, because they made me laugh or smile. In the end I couldn’t choose between two of them.

sketchbooks oct #1 (2)This is one of the ‘eyes closed’ drawings. I think it worked out quite well for a drawing done with my eyes closed, I just ended up with an extra line at the head, almost looking like a horn. It looked slightly sad, which made me smile.

 

 

I used it for the painting at the top of the post. It was made using watersoluble colored markers, gesso and some high flow acrylics (for shading).

 

sketchbooks oct #1Here’s another one. It looked a little like a running dog – with a big smile. I used that one as well.

 

 

 

 

 

This led to a different painting – I used paint straight from the bottle (high flow acrylic paint from Golden) to draw the body. I was so happy with it, I made a picture using my smart phone while it was still wet.

2014-10-05 third method_flying horse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Looking back, I think neither of them fits the description in the story of a wooden horse that flies through the air with people on its back. But I like them anyway.

But for the illustration I may have to go back to the drawing table. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

