Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Catching up on the 101 Art challenge

It was quiet here on the blog, as I was on holiday. I did get a lot of art done. While on holiday I took only a few art supplies, but they were the best! Paper, pencil and pen is all you need, really. And a small watercolor set, a sketchbook with thick paper. Oh and I should not forget: some postcards and washi tape.  😉

Postcards and washi tape pieces (#28 up to # 36)

I already mentioned washi tape before. I absolutely love it for making quick little ‘sketches’. It worked on holiday two. I did some even when I was in the car (not driving of course!). I had a blast making all kinds of animals (more or less real, or imagined) and some more or less abstract pieces too. I tend to make creatures that look like birds quite a lot. But many are totally imaginary. Here’s on of the birds.

washi tape animals 27_28 juli

Holiday drawings (#37 – #46)

I used several methods for drawing: making contour drawings of ‘what was before me’ in the morning ( 2 breakfast drawings #37 38), when we agreed on a lazy afternoon (drew my son using contour lines or scribbly lines #39-#43), on the beach (pencil sketches #44), or when we were in a little village having a drink (a quick pencil sketch of women sitting across from us #45). And a sketch from a photo reference (#46) All in all at least 10 drawings, some sketchy, some more to a finished state; some for fun and practice, some to be used as a basis for later work.

(That is, not counting my fairy tales drawings.)

breakfast drawings Quinquis (2) breakfast drawings Quinquis drawings Pointe de Raz drawings T contour and scribbly drawings T scribbly #2 oneliner lions  (2)

Watercolor and pen piece of Pointe de Raz, Bretagne (#47)

Watercoloring piece in a sketchbook. I made it about a day out on the coast. We went to the Pointe de Raz, a rough edge of the Bretagne coast. A spot of natural beauty, taking a lot of visitors a day. So all was very well tended (paths, car park). Imposibble to do otherwise I am sure. Felt a bit weird though, walking the path with the many, all running around the “Pointe” for a while and then returning to the car, easily evading the line of restaurants and shops.

While there we just made a few photos, I made a sketch after the photo the day after, at the camp site. And then used both as the basis for the painting.

pointe du Raz_Aug 3

 

4 comments on “Catching up on the 101 Art challenge

  1. painted jaybird
    August 17, 2014

    Love your sketches! And your painting. Sounds like a wonderful holiday.

    • corinnebekker
      August 17, 2014

      Thanks, Painted Jaybird. Thanks for dropping by on my blog.
      And yes indeed, it was a wonderful holiday.
      Corinne

  2. lucy
    August 17, 2014

    Fantastic sketches! 🙂

    • corinnebekker
      August 17, 2014

      Thank you so much, Lucy. You make my day. Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to respond.

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

