Corinne maakt

My drawing and painting life

Post card size art – art challenge numbers #14 to #17

sgraffito exercise 2 (1024x747)

June was all about making art about the garden, which for me quickly moved to making flowers, flowers simple and some with vases with flowers. Most pieces were made in response to a wonderful art class – Painting your Garden, The Language of Paint – by Diane Culhane. Diane is a wonderful painter, ceramic artist and art teacher. During six lessons we explored different techniques to apply the paint and work with paint on your surface. At first we made little vignettes, post card sized pieces, on gessoed watercolor paper.

My numbers 14 – 17 in the Art challenge 101 I take from this group of post card sized paintings.

The first two techniques we played with were stippling and ‘sgraffito’ (Italian for scratching in the paint). I’ve used it before and I have found that I like sgraffito very much. It seems to fit nicely in my art tool box. As you can see, I used it in the painting of a vase I shared earlier. 

To see what I mean, here’s a detail shot: the sgraffito shows both at the top right and at the bottom of the vase. I painted dark colors on top of light ones, then scratched into the dark paint. Hence the thin light lines. (The highlights at the top were painted in.)

2014-06-26 15.29.32 Vase

We also used masking fluid. I used that on these two little cards.

les 3 gum thistles

Related blogposts:

Joining the art challenge 101

Painting using sgraffito in Art challenge #1

More sgraffito in older pieces on flickr:

Table top with vases

Abstract (or flowers?) in album: texture studies

2 comments on “Post card size art – art challenge numbers #14 to #17

  1. Iris
    July 11, 2014

    Really like the vase! Thanks for sharing about the techniques, I will go and look into them more.

  2. Pingback: Floating: Art challenge 101 #22 | Corinne maakt

Leave a Reply

Northwest Art Glass: Classes and Workshops

A veritable glass playground for artists and hobbyists alike!

Sheila's Corner Studio

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Kathrins World

Illustrations and more

Carol's Creative Papers

Sharing my passion for card making, papercrafts, & watercolor

Loving myself well

slowly...gently...kindly.... Shena Meadowcroft ~ SoulSpeak Studio

Artistcoveries

Discovering the joy of art.

Lucy's Coloring Book

Color me brightly

thewakeupartist

Rise and Shine!

thepioneersofpanama

A Journey in living simply, in living off the land and in giving back.

Beth Rommel Studio

Fine Art and Illustration

Sheila's Corner Studio

News from my neck of the woods

marlene lee art

Contemporary, Impressionistic fine art paintings

planetmetalhead

Rantings, Ravings & Art from the ❤

method two madness

a blog of two friends

Edith Schmidt Art

Creative watercolor illustrations and designs for fabric, wallpaper, gift wrap, stationary and cards

